Lewis Hamilton claims emotional home win

1152437_2371654_682_1023_sne21318 사본 -_x0w3111 1152425_2371628_1024_683_sne17933 1152454_2371705_1024_683_F1Silverstone2015_JKI1751951 1152452_2371699_1024_683_F1SIL_2015_HZ_09163

Lewis Hamilton claims emotional home win with Nico Rosberg completing a Silver Arrows double in sensational 2015 British Grand Prix!

Lewis took his 38th career Formula One win and fifth of the 2015 season

A third Grand Prix victory at Silverstone sees Lewis equal Jim Clark and Nigel Mansell’s record for wins by a British driver at this circuit

Nico took P2 to seal his 35th career Formula One podium and a Silver Arrows 1-2 finish

Lewis now leads Nico by 17 points in the Drivers’ World Championship, with MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS heading Ferrari by 160 in the Constructors’

Lewis Hamilton
It’s been a very, very special weekend for me. I thought I’d seen it all last year but the fans have just been unbelievable. I could never have imagined this level of support – this one is for them. Thank you all so much. I’m delighted for the team – everyone back at base has done an incredible job to build this amazing car and everything today was just perfect too. Huge thanks to every single one of the team – it’s great to get this result for them at home. The race obviously got off to a bad start but the guys did a great job with the first stop to turn it around. Then, when the rain came, it was really tough out there in a different way. As the one in front it was so hard to judge where to push and my front tyres went so cold. I think that’s the best pit call I’ve ever made to come in at that time. From there it was just bringing it home. I have to admit, as I came round that last lap I was welling up seeing all those people on their feet. What an unbelievable day and an unbelievable feeling. I’m so, so grateful.

Nico Rosberg
That was an exciting race for me. I had a really bad start – losing two positions and therefore being stuck behind the two Williams cars for a while because overtaking was impossible. Lewis managed to clear them in the pits but unfortunately that didn’t quite work out for me – although it was close! Then, when the rain came, I was able to ramp up the pace, overtake them and close the gap to Lewis. At that point I really thought I could win the race. But then he made the pit stop – which I thought was a wrong decision at that moment until suddenly it started to rain heavier. It turned out to be the right decision from Lewis, as I had stay out one more lap and lost too much time in the wet with my slicks. That was the decision that made the race and I had no chance anymore. But, all in all, it was well deserved by Lewis as he did the best job over the whole weekend. Another 1-2 is great for the team and for all of our colleagues in the factories. Thanks for this great car!

Leave a Reply

